Ladurée; A taste of Paris in Tokyo.

Upon checking the official website of Ladurée, I found out that they have 4 branches in Japan. Two of which happened to be in Tokyo, so I decided to grab my chance in trying their famous macarons.

Laduree

Ladurée, the famed salon de thé (teashop) from France. 

 “It all began in 1862, when Louis Ernest Ladurée, a miller from the southwest of France, founded a bakery in Paris at 16 rue Royale. In 1871, while Baron Haussmann was giving Paris a « new face », a fire in the bakery opened the opportunity to transform it into a pastry shop. The decoration of the pastry shop was entrusted to Jules Cheret, a famous turn-of-the-century painter and poster artist.”

Paris is always a good idea, and you know that tea and macarons are part of it. So let me share you a story about my “first time” experience in one of France’ best tea rooms.

While looking for an english book in Kinokuniya Bookstore, my sister-in-law and I decided to check Ladurée before heading back to the train station. I am quite excited and persistent because it was her birthday the next day. I always thought of giving cake during birthdays.

Japanese are a bit of selfish. Lol. I was only able to take few pictures of their store because taking pictures is not allowed. Since it is their policy, and I am a resident of this country, I followed. However, I asked permission if atleast I can take one photo of their macarons selections.

 Who wouldn’t love these luscious macarons?

 For August, they offered their signature flavored macarons including the seasonal ones. They have Lemon, Orange Blossom, Salted Caramel, Raspberry, Iced Mint, Guava, Earl Grey, Pistachio, Rose, Vanilla, Chocolate, Marie-Antoinette Tea and Strawberry Candy “Guimauve”. These yummy treats are not wallet-friendly for me, each macarons cost  ¥240. I bought Rose and Iced Mint, taste was very unusual since I never ate rose, while iced mint tasted like toothpaste. They said that Ginza branch has a larger place and has more flavors to offer.

Shinjuku’s branch is heaven with tasty macarons, jams, cakes, ice cream and sorbet. Macarons’ boxes are too pretty, you can use it as a memory box. They also have macaron keychains, tote bag and variety of tea for gifts, or take home.

  Ispahan.  It is named after a fancy rose that grows wild in Iran.
          Ispahan. It is named after a fancy rose that grows wild in Iran.

I just love pink and berries.

I just love pink and berries.

Not all Ladurée offers Glaces, soft serves. It has few different flavors such as Ispahan, Malesherbes, Pistache Griotte and Suggestion de Saison. Along with a variety of syrups, fresh fruit, and crumbled macaron shell toppings. Price ranges from ¥500 to ¥900. 

I love pink and berries, so I tried Ispahan. It is a rose flavoured soft-serve ice cream drizzled with raspberry sauce with fresh raspberries and juicy lychee hidden within. Topped with crushed raspberry macaron shells sprinkled all over.

       

Since it was my sister-in-law’s birthday the next day, I asked her to choose her cake and she decided to have La Fraise for  ¥ 1099. Small strawberry shape cake, with strawberry mousse and confit with a bit of coconut crunch.

If you’re in Tokyo, dropped by and see it for yourself. Life is good, just like fresh tea and macarons.

LADURÉE SHINJUKU

160-0022 Tokyo
Shinjuku Lumine 2, 1F 3-38-2 Shinjuku-ku, Shinjuku

+81 (0)3 6380 5981

Open everyday from 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

LADURÉE GINZA MITSUKOSHI

104-8212 Tokyo
Ginza Mitsukoshi 2F
4-6-16, Ginza Chuo-ku

+81 (0)3 3563 2120

LADURÉE GINZA MITSUKOSHI open everyday from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Website: https://fabricantdedouceurs.laduree.com/en_int/#!houses

Leave a Reply

